Baby Summer Reading

I absolutely love to read. My husband is always getting on my case about how many books I have. And no matter how much he says it, I always feel that I just don’t have enough. Story telling I feel has been and will always be the number one form of entertainment. I get the same thrill from reading a book that I do from watching a movie. You just can’t beat the the feeling of relaxing on a Saturday afternoon with a good book sitting in the shade somewhere with a tall glass of ice tea … in fact, I am going there this afternoon.

Well you can only imagine the collection of books that I have already started for my son, and I haven’t even scrapped the surface of the books I would like to get for him. I have collection after collection and countless different series in mind that I can’t wait to get my hands on and share with him.

I feel that taking time out to read to your children is vital to a their social and mental development. You will find that they not only learn how to read earlier, but they will learn how to enjoy it and look forward to finding and reading more books.

For this summer I am a mission to engage my son and have good story time fun each week. While he is still young and may not fully understand what the stories are about, I feel getting him used to the practice now and understand that the pictures and words in the books mean something is extremely important. Starting off this young can only make future summers more exciting and enjoyable for the whole family.

What summer reading plans to you have with your family this year? As a part of the TwitterMoms community I have the privileged of sharing this information with you regarding their latest blog post contest “How do we get our children to embrace summer reading.”

“I wrote this blog post while participating in the TwitterMoms blogging program to be eligible to get an “I Can Read!” book. For more information on how you can participate, click here.”
This entry was posted in Family.

One comment on “Baby Summer Reading

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by pchanner, pchanner. pchanner said: Look what I just wrote: Baby Summer Reading http://amomsfreshstart.com/2010/07/baby-summer-reading/ […]

Leave a Reply

