A Mother's Heritage: Handling Loss

After I had my son in September my sister-in-law gave me a gift. She gave me a journal titled A Mother’s Heritage, A Loving Keepsake For Your Children by Ellie Claire. This is different from your every day journal in that instead of an empty canvas for you to free write, it has the topics and questions laid out for you. I like it because it prompts you to share insight to who you are that you may have never shown otherwise. Most of these questions are dealing with topics that, unless my children actually asked, I don’t think I would have jumped up and shared. Instead of writing them in the book, I decided it would be easier to do a blog post for each.

God is the Father who is full of mercy and all comfort. He comforts us every time we have trouble, so when others have trouble, we can comfort them with the same comfort God gives us. 2 Corinthians 1:3-4 (NCV)

This week’s journal question was … When I lost someone close to me …

Thankfully I didn’t have endure much loss during my young years. In fact it wasn’t until I was a teenager that I lost my first close relative, my paternal grandfather. My brothers and I were blessed to have our grandparents live with us for most of our childhood. I was maybe four years old when they migrated from Jamaica to join the family in America. It was because of them that my parents were able to comfortably return to work and know that we were taken care of. So it was hard for my family when my grandfather past away. It was even harder when about seven years later my grandmother past away. I was just glad she was alive to watch me get married. And I know they are both looking down on their great grandson now and being very proud.

Leave a Reply

