Mommy Time!

I have read several post by other mothers on how important it is to set aside some time each week alone. A time to rejuvenate your senses, relax and focus on our own needs for once. As mothers we are by nature and design consumed with the needs, desires and cares for our husbands and children. By God’s perfect design we are conditioned to be sensitive and open to the feelings of our family and become selfless toward them. While we may enjoy this role as wife and mother we were never meant to forget ourselves. We are still beautiful creatures, our value to the world and to God is immeasurable. If He thinks of us that way we really have to acknowledge our value and take care of ourselves likewise.

Over the past few months, since my family relocated and I began working full time again, I realized that I was becoming increasingly more tired, agitated and short with my family. I wasn’t enjoying caring for nurturing my family in the way that I knew I wanted to. I was becoming drained and felt very lost at times. My actions were becoming routine and I didn’t do much for myself and my own personal growth. I have many goals set for myself this year including writing an eBook and designing a planner/organizer for mothers both of which are not where I would like them to be. The year is pretty much half over and I haven’t made time to focus on those projects as much as I would have liked.

One day I woke up and realized that I can not continue to be a supportive helpmate for my husband or a strong leader and example for my son if I didn’t start taking time for myself regularly. I knew it didn’t have to be a long extensive time away, just enough to rejuvenate my senses and concentrate on my own personal agenda.

I wanted to do something that wouldn’t take me too far away in case of ’emergency’ but far enough to where I wasn’t being disturbed. The perfect solution for me … Starbucks. There is a nice quiet Starbucks that is in walking distance from my home, just under a quarter mile that opens at six a.m. I find that I am the most focused and productive early in the morning so I head out Saturday morning after my son wakes up for the morning and gets his early morning feeding. I gather all my material the night before and set it at the door so I can head out quietly and quickly. All I need is nice two hour stretch and I leave feeling so refreshed and accomplished.

Leave a Reply

