A Mother's Heritage: Experiencing Motherhood

After I had my son in September my sister-in-law gave me a gift. She gave me a journal titled A Mother’s Heritage, A Loving Keepsake For Your Children by Ellie Claire. This is different from your every day journal in that instead of an empty canvas for you to free write, it has the topics and questions laid out for you. I like it because it prompts you to share insight to who you are that you may have never shown otherwise. Most of these questions are dealing with topics that, unless my children actually asked, I don’t think I would have jumped up and shared. Instead of writing them in the book, I decided it would be easier to do a blog post for each.

Making the decision to have a child – it’s momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body – Elizabeth Stone

This week’s questions are … Experiencing motherhood for the first time. And When I was pregnant I’ll never forget …

Dear precious son of mine,

I consider my first experience with motherhood to be a few hours after you were born. Right after you entered this world and we met face to face, we spent a few moment together. You laid on my chest and we got to know each other and feel each other warmth. You then spent about an hour with your daddy getting all checked out by him and he took you to met some of your other family members and friends. Meanwhile, I was getting cleaned up and taken care of getting ready for our big moment. You were finally brought back to me and we had our first real bond moment together. This was the first time that we attempted to breastfeed. At that time I really didn’t think it went all the successful but looking at it now I realized just how much we accomplished that night. It was in that moment that I first felt like a mother and experienced motherhood. I realized then just how important we were to each other and how much we were going to forever need each other.

When I was pregnant I will never forget the first time that I heard your heart beat. You were only inside my tummy for nine weeks when we went for our first ultrasound. You were already pretty busy in there and moving and a lot. We saw your little body wiggling around and being just as curious as you are today. Then the ultra sound tech turned on the monitor and we heard our tiny heart beating at a super quick one hundred and sixty beats a minute. That was the first time I really believed that there in fact was truly another life growing inside of me. GOD IS SO GOOD!!!

One comment on “A Mother's Heritage: Experiencing Motherhood

  1. I love your letter to your son. I always tell people to collect them and save them for their child. I plan to do that. You just never know if you’ll be there for them when they get to be a parent and for them to be able to look back at your letters and read about your feelings (fear, joy, etc), will encourage them, even in your absence. Congrats on your little one (who I’m guessing is probably getting so big too fast).

    Stopping by from SITS.
    .-= Ms. Understood´s last blog ..I’m scared y’all =-.

Leave a Reply

