Inspirational Parenting

Welcome to the May Carnival of Natural Parenting: Role model

This post was written for inclusion in the monthly Carnival of Natural Parenting hosted by Code Name: Mama and Hobo Mama. This month our participants have waxed poetic about how their parenting has inspired others, or how others have inspired them. Please read to the end to find a list of links to the other carnival participants.

***

Throughout our marriage my husband and I have always looked for different ways that we could use our experiences to help encourage, lift up and inspire other couples. We look at our challenges, pitfalls and triumphs as another opportunity to share what we experienced with someone else.

We have approached parenting in the same way. We realized that just as we have reached out to our friends and family around us for advice and guidance during our pregnancy and labor, someday someone may be reaching out to us. That is one of the reasons why we have been so careful in our planning and parenting methods. We wanted to be sure we were doing not only what was best for our family, but also being a good example for those around us.

We were careful to not chose a particular approach to our birthing plan or parenting practices based on convenience or ease. We didn’t want to chose the easy way, we wanted the best way even if it meant working a little harder. That is why we chose to have a natural drug-free childbirth, to practice long-term breastfeeding, cloth diapering and many more natural parenting practices.

What I didn’t realize was just how soon our example would be noticed and considered inspirational.

Recently my sister-in-law and her husband, who are currently trying to conceive their first child, expressed to my husband and I that she really admires our efforts and plans. She feels inspired and hopeful that she will also be able to have a drug-free natural childbirthing experience as well as breastfeed her future child as long as possible.

It is a great feeling to know that what you do is respected and admired by others. I am also excited at the possibility of sharing this experience with my sister-in-law and having yet another common bond between the two of us. I am so thrilled that they are ready to start adding to their family and look forward to their natural parenting journey.

***

Carnival of Natural Parenting -- Hobo Mama and Code Name: MamaVisit Code Name: Mama and Hobo Mama to find out how you can participate in the next Carnival of Natural Parenting!

Please take time to read the submissions by the other carnival participants:

(This list will be updated by the end of the day May 11 with all the carnival links.)

12 comments on “Inspirational Parenting

  1. Squee! Isn’t that the best?! My sister – after (might I add) expressing a lot of doubt over how we were parenting Kieran – had a baby this year. And guess what – she is now as natural as they come! It has done wonders to improve our relationship (which used to be rocky far before either of us was a parent), and I love the fact that we can share stories and swap learning experiences.
    .-= Dionna @ Code Name: Mama´s last blog ..The Joys of Breastfeeding a Toddler #5 =-.

  2. Thomasin says:

    What a nice post! I’m happy that you’re example “rubbed off” on your family. Sometimes just walking the walk is what others need to see. I’m trying to keep that in mind myself.

  3. Thomasin says:

    What a nice post! I’m happy that your example inspired your family in such a positive way. Sometimes just walking the walk is exactly what others need to see. I’m trying to keep that in mind myself.

  4. I’m so impressed that you set out to be inspirational and choose the more difficult but better path each time. And I’m so excited that your sister-in-law took notice and wants to follow in your footsteps! How wonderful to know what a difference you’ve made.
    .-= Lauren @ Hobo Mama´s last blog ..May Carnival of Natural Parenting: Role model =-.

  5. the Grumbles says:

    I love the part of my marriage where we both go out and find different ideas and then bring them back and debate/discuss/plan on our parenting choices and it sounds like you have that too. How awesome to hear that from your sister-in-law! Ego boost!
    .-= the Grumbles´s last blog ..eight months. =-.

  6. Melodie says:

    That’s so awesome. It really is about leading by example. And sometimes you inspire even when you aren’t thinking about trying to. When someone sees it actualy works, they will follow suit.
    .-= Melodie´s last blog ..Inspiration Goes Both Ways =-.

  7. Luschka says:

    That was the most fundamental part of my homebirth to me – my sister (who told me later that she had been terrified all the way through because there was no doctor, only a midwife) now wants me to be at her homebirth – she wants that same kind of experience. That rocks my world. I totally relate to how you feel about your SIL. It’s wonderful. Really enjoyed your post!
    .-= Luschka´s last blog ..Dealing with Teething Naturally =-.

  8. Michelle says:

    It’s wonderful how thoughtful you are in your family life. I know that people have often commented on how well my marriage works, I only hope someday that I will receive the same feedback about my parenting. Congratulations on outlining a plan that you feel will inspire others to reach beyond what they believed themselves capable. And what a tribute to have someone take notice. Keep up your devotion.
    .-= Michelle´s last blog ..Woman Seeking Inspiration =-.

  9. It sounds like you have a solid marriage! Isn’t it great to have an equal partner?

    I am thrilled that your SIL came to you for advice, that’s great!
    .-= Sarah @ OneStarryNight´s last blog ..I’m a Parenting Inspiration, Who Knew! =-.

  10. How exciting that your SIL now shares an interest in natural birth and parenting! It’s a good feeling to know that those close to you share your beliefs.
    .-= NavelgazingBajan´s last blog ..That Little Thing =-.

  11. Amber says:

    Even when we don’t know it, people are watching us, and our actions are sowing seeds. It’s particularly great when we get that positive feedback. I’m so glad you’ve gotten that from your sister-in-law!
    .-= Amber´s last blog ..Moms, Blogging, Marketing and Respect =-.

  12. How lovely. It’s so wonderful to inspire other people – particularly when they are the closest to you. And I’m sure you’ll be a big support to your SIL in her parenting journey.
    .-= Zoey @ Good Goog´s last blog ..Guest Post @ The Feminist Breeder – Skipping Chapters =-.

Leave a Reply

