A Mother's Heritage: Motherhood Changes

After I had my son in September my sister-in-law gave me a gift. She gave me a journal titled A Mother’s Heritage, A Loving Keepsake For Your Children by Ellie Claire. This is different from your every day journal in that instead of an empty canvas for you to free write, it has the topics and questions laid out for you. I like it because it prompts you to share insight to who you are that you may have never shown otherwise. Most of these questions are dealing with topics that, unless my children actually asked, I don’t think I would have jumped up and shared. Instead of writing them in the book, I decided it would be easier to do a blog post for each.

For this reason I kneel before the Father, from whom his whole family in heaven and on earth derives its name. I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being. – Ephesians 3:14-16 (NIV)

This weeks journal questions are … Motherhood has changed so much … and When I was picking out names …

I experienced many different changes when I became a mother however one change in particular stands out to me and that is of my concept of time. I have now truly learned the value of time and how to make the most of every minute I have. Even now, as I attempt to write this blog post it seems I can only get about one sentence out at each attempt because my time is always cut short by what my son currently perceive as an emergency. For a seven month old, anything he wants that is out of his reach is an emergency.

I have learned the importance of my time in the morning. It is worth waking up an hour early in order to have my quite time in prayer and reading Gods word. It totally changes my day and how I relate to my husband and respond to my sons needs.

As for his name … we wanted to pick something simple, short and easy. We chose a name that is typically used as a nickname. It was a little frustrating at first when my family kept insinuating that we should name him the full name and just use the nick name while he is a child … he needs a professional name. It took a little bit to show everyone that it will work. We did however give him two long middle names using both of his grandfathers first names.

Leave a Reply

