10 Reasons I love Breastfeeding

10 Reasons I love Breastfeeding

Breastfeeding has by far been one of the best experiences of motherhood for me. This has been one of the most anticipated parts of being a mother and I am thoroughly happy what the results.

My husband and I spent quit a while researching the benefits of breastfeeding before we decided that we were sure it was right for us. We wanted to be sure that it really was as good for our child has rumors had said. We also wanted to see if the effort and time spent on it was really worth it.

To this day I am more then thrilled with our decision and if my son could speak (real English words) I am sure he would express the same joy I do.

But let me get specific with you. Here are the top 10 reasons why I have really enjoyed the experience of breastfeeding. I hope that if you are the fence and don’t know if it is right for you, that these will inspire you to take the plunge and break out those breast.

10.) Conversation Piece:

I am amazed at how much closer I have felt to some of the other moms in my circles of friends after sharing our breastfeeding stories. We are all at different stages of breastfeeding and have different approaches to it. I don’t know, I guess some how talking about boobs bring women closer.

9.) A quick get away:

Ever been in a situation where you felt … “If only I had a way to just leave the room” … well my son has saved me quite a few times so far. Escape from bad movie, boring meeting, awkward dinner conversation. Who is going to try and stop you from feeding your child?

8.) Staying close:

In general I haven’t really wanted to be too far away from my son if I can help it. Breastfeeding helps ensure that I can’t be gone to far, for too long. Sure I have pumped a few emergency bottles but it is not something I want to become a habit. Now of course this doesn’t include the occasional date night for hubby and I. Those are IMPORTANT!!!

7.) Empowerment:

I am reminded each time that I feed my son of the week of struggles we had in the beginning. Then I am reminded of how through God’s love and strength both my infant son and I were empowered to keep it up and we overcame those now seemingly minor hurdles.

6.) Bonding:

Years before becoming pregnant I feared that I wouldn’t be able to bond with my baby. I heard stories of women who experienced postpartum depression and lead a distant life from their children. I was so relieved and comforted at the instant bond my son and I formed when we started breastfeeding. I can feel the comfort and safety he feels in my arms while he eats.

5.) Cheap:

My family recently moved and we are still adjusting to our new life in a new state and new expenses. I am so grateful that this is yet another area of our life where we don’t have to worry about whether or not we can afford to feed our child. As long as I am eating what and how I need, he is covered.

4.) Always Accessible:

No matter where we are, when we are, I have the means to feed him. As long as we are together I am comforted in knowing that he has the nutrient that he needs. I am comfortable feeding him wherever we are and not ashamed of how my son receives his food.

3.) Weight-loss:

Yes, I had to say it. The weight loss has been amazing. I am so amazed at how much my son’s eating habits have contributed to my weight loss. But then knowing that what I eat is what will be nurturing my son is a huge influential factor into what I eat. I am more cautious and wise about what goes into my body now.

2.) Health Benefits for Me.

Wow, there are countless reasons of how breastfeeding benefits mothers. Just a few are: Reduced risk of breast cancer, reduced risk of uterine and ovarian cancer, lessens osteoporosis, reduced risk of anemia, helps delay return of fertility (I am not ready for baby #2 yet).

1.) Health Benefits for my Son:

This list is way to long to list them all. The most important factors for me are; he is receiving the most complete mix of nutrients and antibodies, the milk changes and keeps up with his development so I don’t have to supplement anything, reduced risk of constipation, colic and other stomach problems, reduced risk of childhood diabetes, protection against many infections, less risk of childhood obesity. Okay there are so many more.

It is crazy how much breastfeeding is so good for our babies. I find it hard to understand why mothers ‘chose’ not to breastfeed. I am not judging, I genuinely don’t understand. There are many mothers who are unable to breastfeed for as long as they want, or at all and I truly feel sorry for them. It is the goal of this family to have my son breastfed for as long as he pleases. If he is 3 years old and still sipping some liquid gold … so be it.

3 comments on “10 Reasons I love Breastfeeding

  1. yummymummy103 says:

    Thank you for sharing your experiences with breastfeeding. I hope it inspires moms to want to have this intimate and personal experience with their baby.

  2. GlowinGirl says:

    I loved breastfeeding my three kiddos. It was such a special time (once I got past the first few weeks of torture). 🙂

    I loved the bonding time and the convenience and health benefits. It’s such a perfect time!
    .-= GlowinGirl´s last blog ..Fading Light Reveals Him =-.

  3. Kate says:

    I’m with you on breastfeeding! I’m stopping by from Melodramommy! I have been going over & over in my head if I’m going to stop breastfeeding at 12 months or if I’m going to go longer-I’m not sure yet. His doctor keeps telling me it’s fine to stop at 12 months, but when I read that the World Health Organization says to go until 24 I started thinking that maybe he needed it longer. Your husband was sweet to give you floewrs!
    .-= Kate´s last blog ..Friday Follow! =-.

Leave a Reply

