A Mother's Heritage: Meaning of Mother

After I had my son in September my sister-in-law gave me a gift. She gave me a journal titled A Mother’s Heritage, A Loving Keepsake For Your Children by Ellie Claire. This is different from your every day journal in that instead of an empty canvas for you to free write, it has the topics and questions laid out for you. I like it because it prompts you to share insight to who you are that you may have never shown otherwise. Most of these questions are dealing with topics that, unless my children actually asked, I don’t think I would have jumped up and shared. Instead of writing them in the book, I decided it would be easier to do a blog post for each.

When a baby first looks at you … when it laughs that deep, unselfconscious gurgle; or  when it cries and you pick it up and it clings sobbing you to you … then you are — happy is not that precise word — filled. – Marilyn French

This weeks journal question is: What it means for me to be a mother.

Being a mother has significantly changed my life and in more ways than I had ever imagined it would. Everything in life I now look at in a completely different way. A similar changed happened in my life when my husband and I decided to get married, I grew up, matured and changed. Now this time the changes I encountered I believe made me into a stronger more well rounded women.

Being a mother means far more to me than just haven given birth to a baby boy.

It means sacrifice.

I have to be willing to sacrifice daily for my family. This includes everything from what I eat, to the people I associate with all all the decisions I make.

It means faith.

I have to have faith everyday day that God is protecting and providing for my son. My husband and I cannot raise our son alone. Only God can truly provide for him and teach him all he needs to know. Being a mothers means I have to have faith that through my obedience, love and trust in Jesus Christ that God will equip me as a mother and provide all that my son needs.

It also means opportunity.

I have the opportunity to teach and raise my son to be all that he wants and hope to be. I have the chance to use my life experience, combined with my husbands and all that we learn about parenting from trusted friends and family to educate my and show him how to be a perfect little gentleman.

Leave a Reply

