A Mother's Heritage: Influencers

After I had my son in September my sister-in-law gave me a gift. She gave me a journal titled A Mother’s Heritage, A Loving Keepsake For Your Children by Ellie Claire. This is different from your every day journal in that instead of an empty canvas for you to free write, it has the topics and questions laid out for you. I like it because it prompts you to share insight to who you are that you may have never shown otherwise. Most of these questions are dealing with topics that, unless my children actually asked, I don’t think I would have jumped up and shared. Instead of writing them in the book, I decided it would be easier to do a blog post for each.

The serene beauty of a holy life is the most powerful influence in the world next to the power of God – Blaise Pascal

This weeks questions were: The people who influence me now in my Christian walk are … and What I cherish most about my faith is …

Today I am lucky to have several different people in my life that are influencing my walk with the Lord. My husband being a huge factor. God’s word is clear that wives are to submit to their husbands as to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior. (Ephesians 5:22-23 NIV). As I follow God’s instruction on how to be a godly wife and good support for my husband I am influenced all the more to understand all of God’s Word.

Another big influence in my life right now is the senior pastor at my church. He as been blessed with an amazing teaching ability and knowledge of the Word. He can breakdown the Word in ways that I can apply it to my daily life and truly learn from it. I have matured more in my walk from his teachings then I ever have.

What I cherish most about my faith is my relationship with Christ. When I first started my walk I still imagined God and Jesus Christ as people that were to busy and important to care to know me. Now I know that while they truly are amazing, awesome and powerful they are still my friend. I can call on them and speak to them as I would my earthly friends and I can feels Their presence and know they are there listening and caring for me and my situation.

Leave a Reply

