A Mother's Heritage: Easter

After I had my son in September my sister-in-law gave me a gift. She gave me a journal titled A Mother’s Heritage, A Loving Keepsake For Your Children by Ellie Claire. This is different from your every day journal in that instead of an empty canvas for you to free write, it has the topics and questions laid out for you. I like it because it prompts you to share insight to who you are that you may have never shown otherwise. Most of these questions are dealing with topics that, unless my children actually asked, I don’t think I would have jumped up and shared. Instead of writing them in the book, I decided it would be easier to do a blog post for each.

A Spiritual Awakening – Fix these words of mind in your hearts and minds, tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Deuteronomy 11:18-19

This week’s question were: My first Bible was given to me by? And My first Bible stories were …
My first Bible, well book that had Bible stories was a Precious Moments book. My parents gave it to me in 1988 and I took it with me everywhere. To me, it was my Bible because it had all the main stories and talked about Jesus. It wasn’t until I was old enough to start AWANA that I learned it wasn’t the Bible. You should have been there … one of the ministry leaders asked everyone if they had a Bible and then came to give everyone their Bible badge. When she got to me, I proudly showed her my book and she just looked right at me and said, ‘No, where is your real Bible?’ I was crushed. I went home and told my parents, so they gave me one of their big people Bibles to take to church with me from now on.

One thing I did gain from my Precious Moments book was my favorite Bible story. I never get old of hearing the story of Noah, his family and their journey in the Ark (Genesis chapters 6-9). It is a great example of how being obedient to God’s instructions truly pays off and saves lives.

One thing I am super excited about is that I actually still have this book. I found it recently when my family and I packed up and moved. I can’t wait to start reading the stories to my son and gifting the book to him. He’s still a little young now, I don’t want to give it to him too early and then he colors all over it or tears out some pages. You know how precious our children can be.

Leave a Reply

