Attachment Parenting Carnival: Feed Me

Feeding with Love and Respect

This post is part of the 2010 API Principles of Parenting blog carnival, a series of monthly parenting blog carnivals, hosted by API Speaks. Learn more about attachment parenting by visiting the API website.

During my pregnancy, like many other mothers I did as much research as I possibly could and wanted to be sure that my husband and I were making the best decisions not only for us but of course for the baby. We wanted our son to grow up knowing that he was loved, respected, honored and appreciated for all that he is and all that he can be. We understood that his journey of life began not at birth but at conception. Knowing that I had to make the best choices of what I did, how I did it and especially about what I ate. Everything I eat, he will eat too.

We also decided to continue giving him natures best food and have been solely breastfeeding him. Any and everywhere we have turned has praised and really encouraged breastfeeding. Oh I do have to mention that my first pediatrician had mentioned that we shouldn’t just breastfeed but we had to supplement with formula each day. We were instructed that if we didn’t do that, that our son would be underweight and too skinny. My husband and I were livid. He told us this at his birth. To date our son has always been in the 95% of his weight and height. So ‘In Your Face’ Dr. Knownothing.

I just love this quote from the Attachment Parenting Feeding page.

Feeding a child involves more than providing nutrients; it is an act of love. Whether providing for the very intense hunger needs of a newborn, or serving meals at the family dinner table, parents can use feeding time as an opportunity to strengthen their bonds with their children.

Our feeding times have been the most enjoyable moments as I spend time with my son over these months. I am so blessed and lucky that I have a job that offers full time in house child care and allows me to go down stairs and feed him whenever we need.

Not that he is just a little over 6 months old I am being to build up a good milk supply for when we begin to give him some solids. I am a little nervous about that process because they say … weaning begins the moment solid foods are introduced. I would hate to do anything to encourage early weaning. It is my dream that we are breastfeeding until he is completely ready to stop. I told my husband that he kinda gave me a face when he asked ‘what if he is 2 years old and still breastfeeding?’ I said well then so be it. He gave me a funny face and then just said … ‘what ever is best I support you.’ Such loving support.

2 comments on “Attachment Parenting Carnival: Feed Me

  1. Sheryl says:

    I can’t believe you got such bad advice from a pediatrician. Actually…sadly I can…so many drs are so misinformed about breastfeeding.
    Great post!

  2. Our pediatrician told us that we should supplement in case something ever happened to me, so Baby would be used to it if anything ever happened to me. I told him we were going to stick with the American Academy of Pediatrics recommendation of exclusive breastfeeding for at least 6 months. That mostly shut him up 🙂
    it’s amazing and frustrating that so many pediatricians are so unsupportive of breastfeeding!

Leave a Reply

