Natural Parenting Carnival: Vintage Green

Welcome to the March Carnival of Natural Parenting: Vintage green!

This post was written for inclusion in the monthly Carnival of Natural Parenting hosted by Code Name: Mama and Hobo Mama. This month we’re writing about being green — both how green we were when we were young and how green our kids are today. Please read to the end to find a list of links to the other carnival participants.


Once I began my journey into motherhood my eyes have been opened and my conscience awakened to how important a natural, green life is for me and my family.

I can’t say that growing up my family was the greenest on the block, but we did have a few green corners here and there. My mom has always been a strong influential point of reference in my life and she led the way for the few green movements in our home. She was always trying her best and wanted the best life for her children.

I can remember growing up in New Jersey and having a little garden in our yard. I can’t remember all the different fruits and veggies that she grew but I do remember distinctly (because I helped with these) strawberries and cherry tomatoes.

Recycling wasn’t really a big thing until I was in middle school, but when I was young we did do something close. We used to drive about 45 minutes to a spring with a car full of used milk and water bottles to collect our drinking water. We didn’t spend money to buy and throw away more bottles and because of the work involved getting it we were always careful never to waste or take for granted the water we had.

Well this is typical for most families but we had plenty of hand-me-down clothes. I was the only girl after two older brothers so I didn’t get much of their clothes (t-shirts maybe) but I did get a lot of clothes from my cousins growing up. I was and never have been ashamed or embarrassed about it either. I was actually quite proud to wear their clothes because I always felt that they were very sophisticated and successful women and I felt wearing their clothes would help me feel more confident and capable also.

One more thing I remember doing while I was young that I consider to be green now is making my own toys. My grandmother taught me how to sow growing up and together we made quite of few baby dolls and little clothe sets for my dolls. I am so sad that they all got lost in some of our moves but I was so proud of my little hand-made toys.

It is my heart, goal and intentions on living up to my mother’s standards and setting a good example for my children to continue to be green. There are many different ways, along with these methods that my household lives a green life today and I am always looking for more ways to green our home.


Carnival of Natural Parenting -- Code Name: Mama and Hobo MamaVisit Code Name: Mama and Hobo Mama to find out how you can participate in the next Carnival of Natural Parenting!

Please take time to read the submissions by the other carnival participants.

(This list will be updated March 9 with all the carnival links.)

12 comments on “Natural Parenting Carnival: Vintage Green

  1. Making clothes with your grandmother sounds like such a sweet memory! You have a lot of unique green experiences in your life. Thanks for sharing them with us!
    .-= Lauren @ Hobo Mama´s last blog ..March Carnival of Natural Parenting: Vintage green =-.

  2. I wish I would have sat down and paid more attention to my grandmother when I was young. She didn’t do a lot of sewing, but the woman could crochet like a dream. I never learned, and now I wish I would have!
    .-= Dionna @ Code Name: Mama´s last blog ..March Carnival of Natural Parenting: Vintage Green =-.

  3. I agree with both Lauren and Dionna. We also had a garden in our backyard for a little while, but soon we put sod over it. hahah Does that count as green??
    .-= Jessica – This is Worthwhile´s last blog ..My momma was a hippie =-.

  4. Michelle says:

    As a motherless daughter, I am always envious when I hear about the connection and respect between a mother and a daughter. Clearly your mother and grandmother made a big impact on who you are and the values that you are passing along to your own children. Your mom must feel so wonderful to know that you admire and respect your upbringing and that you hope to continue with her standards. Beautiful sentiments.
    .-= Michelle´s last blog ..Seeing My Grandmother with Green Colored Glasses =-.

  5. Melodie says:

    I wish I had paid more attention in sewing class or taken an interest in sewing when my mom made me clothes, but I hated it back then. Now I wish I could sew. Even basic things. I think I would have a lot of fun making toys for my kids.
    .-= Melodie´s last blog ..Nachos and Guacamole =-.

  6. Paige says:

    My mom tried so hard to teach me to sew and I just wasn’t having it! Now I wish I knew all those great skills!
    .-= Paige´s last blog ..Ending Is Better Than Mending? =-.

  7. pchanner says:

    Sorry about the delay, finally got my links and codes up. Ready to party carnival style. Going to check out the other lovely vintage green ladies.

  8. Lovely post. I think it’s wonderful about your feeling that the clothes carried a positive energy that could be passed on to you – I really love that.
    And how wonderful that you collected your own water. Like you say; putting effort, time and energy into things, makes us appreciate them that much more.
    .-= Mrs Green @ littlegreenblog.com´s last blog ..Vintage green =-.

  9. Darcel says:

    I keep saying that I wish I had learned how to sew from my mom. She tried to teach me, but I thought it was for old people, LOL
    .-= Darcel´s last blog ..Wordless Wednesday: 30 weeks =-.

  10. Sewing is something I wish I had learned more about growing up. I am intrigued by the idea of making your own dolls.

  11. the Grumbles says:

    There are so many things that we did back then that I never even thought of as “green” but they really are! I loved making my own dolls and toys, and playing outside and building forts. I think we have a bigger impact than we realize sometimes.
    .-= the Grumbles´s last blog ..greener pastures =-.

Leave a Reply

