Give Me a Good Reason to be Anti-Babywearing

So far I personally have heard nothing but good things about baby wearing and I just love to wear my baby. But I have recently discovered that there are people out there that don’t agree. Here are some of their statements.

“I actually had a lady tell me once [when she saw me with my first son in the Moby]…Ugghhh, I carried them for nine month, I don’t want to hold them anymore.”

“I had expressed interest in a new baby carrier and a “friend” of mine said “Are you a kangaroo?” when I explained the benefits of wearing DS she went on the say “Its not good for your body. We are only made to carry them for 9 months…”

“People say that you’ve already carried the baby and that you’re going to “spoil” them so they HAVE to be carried. And you’re not giving the baby their own space… they’ll crawl later because you carry them everywhere… It’s bad for their development….”

Even some ads for products on the hater bandwagon … check out the ever so famous Motrin ad dishing out on babywearing.

Have you had a similar experience with a friend or family member discouraging babywearing? What were their statemetns and how were you able to react to their ideals?

4 comments on “Give Me a Good Reason to be Anti-Babywearing

  1. Family of course, being old fashioned and in our culture, would always say…”Put her down. You’re going to spoil her.” I never actually “wore” my baby (didn’t have a sling), but I carried her a lot. With the next one, I plan to get a sling and anyone that has a problem with it…can just not look at my baby. 😉
    .-= Melanie (ModernMami)´s last blog ..Does Work-Life Balance Exist? =-.

  2. pchanner says:

    You will just love it, I tell you. And when wore properly you won’t feel the added weight at all. Baby boyis almost 18 pounds now and I still wrap him whenever I can.

  3. Doula Jenny says:

    I cringed when I watched that ad. it’s terrible.
    anyway, I’m so proud of you Philippa. you’re such a strong powerful mama.

    I’ve been thinking of starting a blog about my journey as a doula/CBE
    I dunno though…

    • pchanner says:

      Oh Jen you so should. I think you have an amazing story and journey and can share so much helpful and life saving information with people. We will have to talk more. I can help you start.

Leave a Reply

