A Mother's Heritage: Learning about Jesus

After I had my son in September my sister-in-law gave me a gift. She gave me a journal titled A Mother’s Heritage, A Loving Keepsake For Your Children by Ellie Claire. This is different from your every day journal in that instead of an empty canvas for you to free write, it has the topics and questions laid out for you. I like it because it prompts you to share insight to who you are that you may have never shown otherwise. Most of these questions are dealing with topics that, unless my children actually asked, I don’t think I would have jumped up and shared. Instead of writing them in the book, I decided it would be easier to do a blog post for each.

The journal entry question for this week was: I first learned about Jesus when I was … The person who introduced me to Christ was …

Wow this week is a toughy. Not the subject matter, I can talk about Jesus for hours/days/weeks/months/years. It’s the specific question. I really had to think about this one. I would have to saw that I learned about Jesus when I was very young. My family and I were always attending Catholic churches until I was about eleven years old. I remember learning about Jesus during my different Sunday school classes. After that we started to attend a Baptist church my I was just entering high school. To me, that is when I really started to learn about who Jesus was and what He did from my life. It was there that I met the pastor that really introduced me to not just ‘church’ but to Christ himself. My pastor, Pastor Potter. I will always remember my first pastor. He married not only my husband and I but both my brothers and two of my cousins.

Leave a Reply

