I Miss Being A SAHM

Last week I made the big return back into the work field. The blessed yet dreaded day of returning to full time work. God really worked some miracles for our family and provided us with amazing opportunities for growth and comfort this year. While I am extremely grateful and thankful for where we are now, I so much miss being a Stay At Home Mom already.

What I miss the most right now is that there are no more sleep in late start mornings. No more eating my lunch and snacks when I please. No more morning time yawns, giggles, stretches and farts (little man’s farts not mine)with my son.

Those are my personal little gems of joy that I had enjoyed for the first five months of my son’s life.

I also have some other not so sentimental reasons why I will miss being a SAHM.

I miss just the title itself. I found that being able to say that I was a SAHM carried so much pride and privilege about it. Many moms I talked to always seemed to envy my staying home situation. While I knew it was no situation to be proud of, we certainly could not afford it, it was just the hand that God had provided for us at the time. It just seemed that most mothers desire to be a SAHM and I for a moment felt like I had something others wanted. And now that I have returned to work I fully understand why we moms like to be at home.

I have always been out either full time at school or working full time. It wasn’t until I became pregnant and put on bed rest did I start this staying at home lifestyle. Once our son was born I found myself creating and up-keeping a pretty good daily/weekly routine. I was enjoying the various tasks, jobs, projects, play dates and cleaning schedules that I had established.

It felt free.

My activities, coming and goings were all based on what I felt like that day. I wasn’t confined to someone e lse’s schedule.

Don’t get me wrong, it is not that I don’t enjoy the structure and benefits the life of a working mom provides. I just feel as if my time is now limited. I am still working on establishing a new routine that my whole family can enjoy and work with. But I am sure it will all come together soon.

Any advice on how you handled returning to work for the first time and re-establishing a new home routine for your family.

4 comments on “I Miss Being A SAHM

  1. Sara Broers says:

    Once you have settled into your new routine, I think you are gonna be just fine. It’s that dreaded word change- oh, and the older I get, the less this Mom likes change! Look at your situation as new opportunities for the whole family, and your transition will seem much smoother!
    .-= Sara Broers´s last blog ..Dominos Pizza is offering "FREE" Chocolate Lava Crunch Cakes- Today Only =-.

  2. You will eventually find that “room” for your time and things will (mostly) fall into place. Just don’t be discouraged those days that things don’t go as planned. Not being negative…just realistic, because there will be days that the routines don’t work out. The biggest thing is to just roll with all that comes your way. 🙂
    .-= Melanie (ModernMami)´s last blog ..10 Work at Home Online Communities You Should Check Out =-.

    • pchanner says:

      Thanks Melanie. It has been a pretty easy ride. And yeah, like you said there are days, moments, hours when my routine is thrown around a little, but I have survived and came out more mature. Thanks for the support.

Leave a Reply

