A Mother's Heritage: My Neighborhood

After I had my son in September my sister-in-law gave me a gift. She gave me a journal titled A Mother’s Heritage, A Loving Keepsake For Your Children by Ellie Claire. This is different from your every day journal in that instead of an empty canvas for you to free write, it has the topics and questions laid out for you. I like it because it prompts you to share insight to who you are that you may have never shown otherwise. Most of these questions are dealing with topics that, unless my children actually asked, I don’t think I would have jumped up and shared. Instead of writing them in the book, I decided it would be easier to do a blog post for each.

The journal entry question for this week was: The most fun thing about our neighborhood was … We lived just down the street from …

I really enjoyed the neighborhood we lived at while I was really young, only 7. This is the first home we lived in when we relocated to Florida. We only rented there for a year but it was a very eventful year. I remember there were loads of children on the road also, most around my age or slightly older. We always had something going on outside after school and on the weekends. The most memorable time I had was when myself and two sisters played dress up, our mom’s made us Miss America sashes and their father drove us around the neighborhood in the back of his pick up truck as if we were on a parade. We were waving at all of our neighbors and they all stopped what they were doing to cheer or wave back. It was great!

Shortly after we purchased our first home in Florida and moved my uncle and family also moved to the area. They were able to find a home in the same neighborhood as we were. It was awesome living just down the street from my uncle, aunt and my three cousins. We were able to grow up together and I am very grateful for that.

One comment on “A Mother's Heritage: My Neighborhood

  1. Tinka says:

    Stopping by from SITS and wishing you a great week!
    .-= Tinka´s last blog ..OMG!!!!! People are nuts! =-.

Leave a Reply

