Wear Red Day

I’d like to invite you to support National Wear Red Day.

You may not know this, but the number one killer of women is heart disease. And ever y year more than 460,000 women die from this largely preventable disease.

National Wear Red Day is a day to recognize the women who have died from this disease, to build awareness of the statistics, and to encourage all women to make a choice to beat heart disease. This year National Wear Red Day is February 5.  National Wear Red Day is for women like Theresa.  As a busy mom, Theresa kept putting off a check-up, but called her doctor when she felt tired, short of breath, and started having back and chest pains.  “I had a feeling that it was my heart, but all the tests were saying it wasn’t, “ Theresa said.  Two months later, Theresa had a massive heart attack at a family birthday party.  She was 38.  You can read Theresa’s story at www.GoRedForWomen.org/stories.

As a supporter of Go Red For Women, the American Heart Association’s initiative to build awareness and raise funds towards the cause of women and heart disease, I have created a group that you can join.  Support the cause by wearing red and donating $25 or more to support the science and research of the American Heart Association that benefits all women, men and children.

On behalf of women everywhere, please join me to fight and beat this deadly disease.

Go Red Day

Lead the Way and Plan a Wear Red Day

It takes just one person to start Wear Red Day on any day of the year. Let that person be you! Consider organizing a Wear Red Day at your workplace, with your faith-based organization, at your community center or even in your own home. Speak up. Inspire your friends, neighbors, coworkers and family members to show their support for the fight against heart disease!

You can also celebrate Wear Red Day by:

  • Getting your coworkers to join you in wearing red to work
  • Asking the man in your life to wear something red
  • Promoting healthy hearts with a heart-healthy meal for your friends and family
  • Using our Wear Red Day fundraising tool to reach out to friends and family and donating proceeds to Go Red For Women.

Wear Red Day

3 comments on “Wear Red Day

  1. Persis says:

    hello stopping by from SITS…had I known about the Red I’d have surely implemented it at my work place y’day…Anywayz I’ll be sure to do it next year…only if I can remember it until then!

    Have a great day…x.

  2. Elsa says:

    I just read this today but I did wear red on that day. This cause is one very dear to my heart as my mother passed away of heart disease on June 2009. Last year I participated in the Heart Start! Walk sponsored by the American Heart Association in honor of my mom. This year I intend to create a group for my workplace so they can all join me.

    Thanks for increasing awareness about this cause.

Leave a Reply

