Fun, Fit and Guilt Free YourShape Party

Recently my friends and I had the awesome opportunity to participate in the House Party’s Fun, Fit and Guilt Free party featuring Jenny McCarthy’s Nintendo Wii game Your Shape and Jello Mousse. We also had some fun playing the Just Dance game to some of the greatest 80’s and 90’s music. Here are my review of the products I shared.

Just Dance: This is a fun dancing game that uses the Wii Remote to register your ability to mimic the dancing character on the screen while measuring your timing, emphasis and position. It has over 30 hit songs from the 80’s, 90’s and a few from latest decade. It is loads of fun just listening to the different great songs and actually getting up and being active. The few things I didn’t like about the game is: 1. You don’t have that much time to really see what the next move is and the little stick figure you have isn’t all that descriptive also. So you always feels as if you are fighting to keep up with the character. 2. I could just be a really bad dancer but I don’t feel the remote really picks up all your moves. I get tons of X’s (missed moves). Okay it isn’t just me because all my friends experienced the same thing … we all can’t be that bad. Overall: I don’t think I would have purchased the game, but I on other hand, it will remain a game in my ‘games to play’ pile for its fun group party appeal.

Ubisoft’s Your Shape. If you are looking for a game to provide a great workout, this is a good choice. It provides you with some great intense exercises to get you moving, toned and burning calories quickly. And the use of the camera is ingenious. On the screen you get a view of both the animated Jenny McCarthy and a video image of yourself. You have the ability to see yourself next to her to know if you are performing the moves as you should. It is a great motivator. The few things I don’t like about the game is: 1. While the addition of the camera is really awesome, you will learn during the set up that there are a few restrictions. You must make sure that there is sufficient lighting, that your clothes stand out from your back ground, that you have a room set up with at least 8-10 feet of space between you and the camera and that there are no other objects/people/animals moving in the back ground. So if you are in a small apartment, with children who can walk or crawl … your going to have problems. 2. While you can set up each day to chose which part of the body you want to work on (arms, chest, legs etc.) you can not chose the specific workouts or exercises. For instance I love working out my arms, but I just can’t manage the side plank exercise … there is no option to exclude that part and exchange it for a different arm exercise. You can’t customize a work out. Hopefully if there is a sequel to the game they will add that to it. Overall: I love the game, love the workout I get and find myself using it at least 4 times a week. While I don’t have the ideal set up in my home making the camera use ‘faulty’ I have learned to accept that my stats will be off but I know actually doing the workout. I would purchase the game and see myself using it for a while longer.

And lastly the Guilt Free Jello Mousse. Jello has a new cold mousse product that comes in three delicious flavors, Dark Chocolate, Chocolate and Carmel. They are light and fluffy 60 calories of goodness. If you have ever had a mousse before you know the texture is different from your average jello so it takes a second to get used to … but it isn’t a bad different. Overall: I am more of a yogurt girl so I don’t think I would have noticed it on the shelve before this party, but I am glad I found it. I have found a new dessert that is not too bad on the thighs.

That night we played, we danced, we exercised, we ate jello. Loads of fun … Thanks House Party!

http://picasaweb.google.com/s/c/bin/slideshow.swf

Disclosure: House party provided me with 1 copy of Your Shape fitness game w/motion tracking camera, 15 Your Shape workout headbands, 15 coupons for $10 off Your Shape game on Amazon, 1 Just Dance Bonus Video Game (Wii game), Mousse Temptations by Jello- napkins and spoons, 15 coupons for guest (50 cents off) and, Free coupons for the host (5)

6 comments on “Fun, Fit and Guilt Free YourShape Party

  1. Alissa says:

    I signed up on the house party website a little while back, but haven’t yet hosted a party. Looks like you had a great time at yours!
    .-= Alissa´s last blog ..One good thing about January =-.

  2. JustRandi says:

    What a great party idea! I love it!

    just stopped by from SITS. Happy Friday!

  3. I had a great time! Thanks again. 🙂
    .-= Melanie (ModernMami)´s last blog ..The Gifts We Get And Give =-.

  4. This looks like a blast. My son has a Wii, if only I could get him to play with me. LOL!

    Stopping in via SITS.
    .-= karen@fitnessjourney´s last blog ..The Biggest Loser: The Drama Returns =-.

  5. Kmama says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog the other day. I appreciate your review of the Wii games, as my b-day is coming up and I’d love to get some games to get me up and moving!
    .-= Kmama´s last blog ..Scuba TV =-.

Leave a Reply

