Salma Hayek and Breastfeeding

I may be a little behind on the times with this post but I just discovered this today. Amazing story about Salma Hayek breast feeding a hungry baby boy. Once cute side fact is that the baby boy was born on the same day as her own daughter, just one year later.

During her trip Hayek learned from local doctors in Sierra Leone that many of the mothers there seem to stop breastfeeding their infants within the first few months after birth. They explained that this is because of pressure from their husbands to stop. The tradition/custom of the area has it, that it is not acceptable to have sexual relations with breast feeding women.

Sierra Leone has the highest infant mortality rate in the world, in part fueled by malnutrition.*Physicians there told Hayek they would like to see mothers breastfeed for a full two years but that stigma too often gets in the way.

Hayek said her decision to breastfeed another woman’s child was an attempt to diminish the stigma placed on women for breast feeding. At the time she was still breastfeeding her 1-year-old daughter. She said she thought her daughter wouldn’t mind sharing her milk. “Am I being disloyal to my child by giving her milk away?” Hayek said. “I actually think my baby would be very proud to share her milk. And when she grows up I’m going to make sure she continues to be a generous, caring person.”

Hayek told McFadden that that the idea of helping a child in this way had a long tradition in her family. She related a story about her great-grandmother many years ago in Mexico saving the starving baby of a stranger by breastfeeding the child.

Everytime I hear this story I just get all teary eyed. Wish I could pump a bottle everyday and ship it to some family. Or better yet some how convince them that there custom is just not healthy. Can’t decide which is easier yet.

3 comments on “Salma Hayek and Breastfeeding

  1. Chris C. says:

    This is an amazing story. I’m torn because I’m wondering if I would be all cool and collect if my wife told me that she was going to breast feed a strangers baby. Don’t get me wrong I see it and I’m like this is awesome, but man….anyways great post. I know that breast feeding is the way to go…..

    How about the many women of where ever pump and somehow give the milk to the children? Is that possible? It would be amazing if it was.
    .-= Chris C.´s last blog ..Ty’s First Thanksgiving =-.

    • pchanner says:

      I would love to donate some of my milk to these families. Or better some time there sharing with the women how important it is to not stop. Educate the men also.

  2. Wow it’s the first time I’ve heard of this. What an amazing act!

Leave a Reply

