DIY: Body Lotion

This week I set on an adventure to make my own body lotion.I have really enjoyed learning how to me more self-sufficient and I am always looking for different projects that I can do using ingredients and tools I already have in the house.

I chose this lotion recipe because from the ingredients it looked to be a nice balance of creams and oils. I tend to have very dry skin, especially in the winter so finding a mixture that contains more moisturising ingredients was important.

Again, the process of making the lotion was a whole lot easier then I imagined. The best part being that most of the ingredients were items I already had at home. And also, you can play with the recipe and change how much of each ingredient you use each time you make it until you find just the right balance.

To make your own lotion all you need is:

  • Coconut Oil
  • Distilled Water
  • Beeswax
  • Cocoa Butter (optional)
  • Vitamin E
  • Essence Oil (optional)

Watch and see how quick and easy the whole process was for me.

6 comments on “DIY: Body Lotion

  1. I never thought of making lotion at home. What a neat idea! I bet that saves a lot of money. Love your videos!

    Happy SITS Saturday Share fest!
    .-= Me, Myself & Pie´s last blog ..Mini Cornbread Crab Cakes w/ Lemon-Caper Sauce =-.

  2. Christie H says:

    Love the post and the video! I think I’m gonna try it!

  3. Kristi says:

    What a great idea! I’ve never thought about making my lotion. It’s something I’ll definitely have to try out.
    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and commenting on my breastfeeding post. Congratulations for sticking with breastfeeding. You go mama!

    Kristi, Hello…Is This On?
    @TweetingMama
    .-= Kristi´s last blog ..Not My Child! Monday – Poopy Diapers, Pinched Nipples & Weapons of Mass Destruction =-.

  4. coconut oil based lotion recipe are soften, soothe and rejuvenate your skin with quality ingredients including botanicals extracts such as: aloe vera, burdock, root, yarrow, and sea kelp.

Leave a Reply

