A Mother's Heritage: My Mother …

This weeks journal entry question was about my mother. It asks … My mother spent her day … She  had many jobs like …

Growing up I remember my mom as being a modern hard working women who helped tremendously to support the family. She like my father also was born and raised in the island of Jamaica. After high school she attended a commercial school and studied to be a stenographer. After school she  worked in the insurance field in Jamaica. She, along with my father transferred to Canada and continued working in insurance. Finally my parents ended up in New Jersey where she continued in insurance and also took a small course in nursing.

When we moved down south she continued in insurance and only took a three year break to try out real estate. I remember going with her to show different houses to potential clients. I would always run through the house picking out which room would be mine if this were to be my new home.

She also spent a few months … maybe even a year as a taxi driver while she spent a minute going to school to be a paralegal.

But somehow she always found her way be to insurance which is where she retired not too long ago. But sometimes habits are just too hard to break. She found herself a company which allows her to continue to work in insurance from the comfort of her own home … while occasionally venturing out to meet some clients face to face to discus different policy options.

I guess these days … we moms never really ever retire.

7 comments on “A Mother's Heritage: My Mother …

  1. What an inspirational woman she sounds. You must be very proud.

  2. Katie L. says:

    Your mom sounds like the all-around-hard-working-loving mom that many women aspire to be!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Hope you have a great week! 🙂
    .-= Katie L.´s last blog ..365-*005:"New" =-.

  3. Darcel says:

    I found you through SITS. Stopped by to say hello! I like your blog. Hope you have a great week.

  4. BLOGitse says:

    THANK YOU!
    for supporting me in my struggle for achieving justice for my rights to my pictures. RESPECT!

Leave a Reply

