Getting Fit After the Holidays

I can feel it already. I am going to have a hard time come the first of the year to shed off all the extra pounds put on over the holiday’s by snacking. I had a blast making all those cookies, but my down fall started when I didn’t give them all away. Temptation was way too strong … I indulged a bit.

Well thanks to the creative minds at TwitterMom’s I have been inspired to come up with 10 different ways to get fit after the holidays. And who knows, I may be lucky and get chosen to win a copy of EA SPORTS Active™ Personal Trainer– the highest rated Wii™ fitness product to date for use on the Nintendo Wii system! You know how I love me some Wii Fitness.

Continued Intake of Fluids: I already mentioned before how important and beneficial drinking loads of water can be on your health and well being. Staying fit is one of its greater benefits and I plan on drinking a lot this coming year.

Increase Fruit & Veggie Intake: Fruits and vegetables are a natural source of energy and give the body many nutrients you need to keep going. There is a whole CDC website dedicated just to the benefits of consuming more fruits and veggies.

Limiting Sweets: This is probably the hardest stay fit method of all. I usually can’t go a day without eating something sweet like a cookie, or ice cream. I just need to learn how to slow it down a bit. You can treat yourself with an ‘unhealthy’ treat just once in two weeks if you find it difficult to control

Limit caffeine:Unlike sweets, this one is the easiest for me. I don’t drink coffee and I don’t like caffeinated sodas. But this is just about me. You also, avoid smoking or exposure to even passive smoking. Smoking tends to weaken your muscle strength. Also, avoid regular intake of alcohol

Planning out my Meals: Not only is what you put into your body important, but the when is also just as crucial.  The intake should be based on your activity and not on your mood. People often tend to eat more in excitement and even in tension.

Regularly Take Vitamins: make sure that you do take a daily vitamin and mineral supplements for total health

Exercise Regularly: Well this one is a no brain-er. CDC also provides a wonderful site that teaches about regular exercise and the types needed. Physical activity is anything that gets your body moving. According to the 2008 Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans, you need to do two types of physical activity each week to improve your health–aerobic and muscle-strengthening.

Staying Active:  If you can’t fit in your full amount of regular exercise one week make sure you are continuing to do stuff around the house, yard, work place or town to keep your body moving. Don’t become a couch potato. Get up and do something. Even the laundry, the dishes, rake the leaves, shovel some snow … something to get your body moving.

Keep a purposeful focus on the goal: No amount planning and dreaming matters if your heart really isn’t in it. Staying fit is like any other project … you have to stay focused. And you have to believe the changes and steps you are making are worth it. Purposefully decide to do all the above … fully understanding the benefits and you will see results in no time.

Track my progress:  This is a personal benefit for me so I kept it last. Not everyone will have the same effect but I love to see my progress laid out before me. It encourages me to keep it up. Track your weight loss, the amount of time spent doing regular exercise, waist size, steps walked … anything you can track to keep you motivated.

Hope these help to motivate you to stay fit and trim for the new year. Have any other tips you would like to share?

2 comments on “Getting Fit After the Holidays

  1. Chris C says:

    Well, i ditto these steps. I will be checking my junk food intake and a big for me will be actually eating breakfast. Also getting some good multivitamins to suppliment with. I think i have a daily excercise routine i want to put in place. One of those will probably be using Wii Fit Plus. Now it’s all about getting strated 🙂
    .-= Chris C´s last blog ..Ty’s First Thanksgiving =-.

Leave a Reply

