Cloth Diaper Daddy

This post is part of the Cloth Diapering Bloggers and Dirty Diaper Laundry monthly Cloth Diaper Carnival.

How exciting. This is my first time participating in a blog carnival. Hope I don’t miss any thing.

Today I get to share about my cloth diapering husband. Like many fathers, he wasn’t always a cloth diapering fan. When I first told him my dreams of using cloth diapers he was … ummmm … let’s say not amused. And with good reason too. He had come from a cloth diaper family. He has witnessed many family members go through their struggles and fun with cloth diapers. However, this was over 20 years ago (sorry to somewhat date you my love). He was unaware of the ease and simplicity of cloth diapering today.

I wasn’t able to change his mind over night either. For most of the pregnancy I was still trying to convince him that it was good choice. However, he was still so focused on the ‘work’ behind it and of course the ‘smell.’ Both of which are so minimal now it isn’t funny. Once I started my cloth diaper research and began looking into which system would work best for us I knew I had to introduce the information slowly for him. If I tried to tried to lay it on him all at once, it would have seemed to good to be true and that I was missing something. So every now and then I would just slip in some CD fact over dinner or in the car. Then I would get pictures and instructions on how the system really worked. Finally I would talk about the cleaning and care of the diapers last since that seemed to be the biggest struggle he had.

Once our little bambino was born and we had the cloth diapers on hand, he was sold. We are currently using and loving the gDiaper system and it is so easy and simple to use. He was really amazed at how clean and easy it is to use. And for the soiled diapers, we purchased a Diaper Genie and use a cloth mesh bag as the liner. When it is laundry time, we simply pull out the bag with diapers enclosed, draw the strings to close it and throw it in the wash.

It’s cute, because now I hear him trying to convince his friends how easy and beneficial it is to use cloth diapers today.

5 comments on “Cloth Diaper Daddy

  1. Annie says:

    I have never used gDiapers but I would love to give them a try.
    Great post!

    • pchanner says:

      You should try them. They are super easy to use. And like most cloth diaper sets, if you prepare them before hand it makes changing time so much easier and quicker.

  2. rachel says:

    Cool, do you use the cloth inserts or flushable with the g-diapers?

  3. Chris C. says:

    Ok so, yea this article is correct to the tee! I’m now a big advocate for using cloth diapers. Well, the gDiapers system at least. It’s so easy and the covers are awesome. Yea you can use the cloth inserts or the flushables. When we are home we use the clothe and when we go out we use the flushables.

Leave a Reply

