A Mother's Heritage: My Father …

549e48e76969be9c4ed7b7202f1794d2_Flowers_ScreensaverThis weeks journal entry question was about my father. It asks … My father worked at … His job was …

My father was born and raised on the island of Jamaica. He studied Economics and Business Management and graduated from UWI (University of West Indies) in 1966. He started out working primarily in banking. After meeting and marrying my mother in 1970 they moved from the island. First they lived in Canada where my father continued in banking. Then later on in the 70’s they migrated again to America, New Jersey to be exact. There the focus shifted to insurance. As long as I have known my father he was involved with insurance, usually as an underwriter. Now thanks to many of years of experience … and just plain old age … he is retired and is now a full time grandfather to my baby boy. Well he has 4 other grandchildren from my 2 older brothers but he … this isn’t their blog.

Leave a Reply

