My 2010 S.M.A.R.T Goals

DSCI0009

Wow I can not believe it is that time again. Another year has come and gone. A year of plans, actions, events and change.

Outside of my New Years Resolutions, there are a few goals that I will like to accomplish before the end of 2010. There are personal goals that don’t necessarily involve my family although I am sure that they will contribute to each project in some way.

This will be the first time that I am setting some goals for myself. It’s weird I guess. I often hear different women express that after having a child they feel like they ‘lost themselvs’ or loss their individuality and find it hard to remember or identify with their own dreams, desires and feelings because they get so wrapped up in the role of motherhood. I almost feel the exact opposite. Since becoming a mother I have discovered so much more about me and who I really am and what I like or want to do. I feel more in touch with the inner me now and want to do everything I can to catch up on all those years I missed not truly living. I want to do all I can to hold on to these feelings. So I figured writing out a few of my goals now will keep me stay focused and give me something to look back on just in case I there is a time in my life where I do lose sight of who I am and what I want to do with this short life of mine.

  1. Start (and maybe even finish) writing a book. Over the past year the role of motherhood has really been on my heart and the center of most of my conversations. There are certain aspects of this new role that have seem to stand out more then others, so much so that there are enough ideas and thoughts to form a book. So I thought, why not. At least let me try. Even if I never actually publish it, it will be something that I accomplished for myself. A dream I have always had just never had a topic I was truly passionate about until now.
  2. Plant and harvest at least 3 different crops. My life time goals will be able to have a full garden of all different types of organic vegetables and fruits so that I will rarely ever have to go and purchase produce at a store. For me this goal will not only save our family some money down the road but also give me a fulfilling and rewarding project that is on going and fun. I figured I would start out easy this year. Not set myself up for disappointment. If I get to the point where I feel I can add more then I will. I also haven’t decided yet exactly which seeds I will start with. It will all depend on if our family relocates this winter season.
  3. I plan on staying active with this blog, not letting it fall behind no matter what my life style and situation maybe. I will like to have an average of at least 10 blog post per month posted by the end of the yer. I don’t think that should be too hard, there are 365 days in the year and I will need to have 120 posts, that only 1/3 of the year. Seems do-able from here. Let’s see how I handling this goal come April.
  4. In the years past I have seriously considered getting into personal sales businesses. I have met with and discussed being a Cookie Lee Consultant as well as a Mary Kay consultant. Well this year I will like to start both of those businesses. I don’t have any goals of selling thousands of dollars with either business. I more see it as something I have, let my friends and family members know and whenever they need some products I am there for them. A more laid back approach to it for now. Maybe down the road I will become more active in them.

I don’t think these goals are being too drastic or unrealistic. They seem to fall under the realm of being S.M.A.R.T. Specific: I know exactly what I want. No generals here. Measurable: They are all measure able, I will know exactly how far into the book I am, how much harvest is doing, how many blogs post are up, etc. Attainable: They are all certainly attainable if I set my mind to it and don’t get distracted. Realistic: Certainly they are realistic. Some I feel I can even stretch a little more but I don’t want to set myself up for disappointment my first time making goals. Timely: Every thing can be accomplished in a year.

3 comments on “My 2010 S.M.A.R.T Goals

  1. kathy sykes says:

    It is great that you put your goals down on paper and I think they are very realistic. I hope you reach every last one of them. Writing mine down soon also.

  2. Ronny says:

    I write down my goals in a 2010 goals booklet. It is always in my wallet and I review it regularly. It keeps me focused on what really matters to me.

    Enjoy and share,
    Ronny

  3. pchanner says:

    Good luck setting out your goals Kathy. It can be inspiring to have then written down.

    That booklet is a good idea Ronny. I will have to chekc it out.

Leave a Reply

