Another Reason I'm a Cloth Diapering Momma

Today started out pretty much like any other normal Tuesday morning. Got up early and played on the Internet. Picked up my son and strapped him into the stroller for a 3 mile walk. Walked to the pharmacy to drop off prescription. Continued to the grocery store for some much needed items. Back to the pharmacy before heading on home. And then it happened … on the way home I encountered the most disgusting thing I had ever seen on the side of the road (including the dead armadillo I walked past last month).

Dirty Diaper

Yes ladies and gentlemen a dirty diaper thrown on the side of the road.

Now I am not a ‘down your throat’ cloth diaper advocate. I understand that it isn’t for everyone. And I never judge my disposable diaper using mama friends. I just ask that you give a fair chance, research it before you decide. The savings alone are worth it. Sure the upfront cost can seem daunting but plan ahead, put them on your baby registry and tell your friends and family what your plans are so they don’t buy you a bunch of disposables and get the cloth and covers you need. My husband and I did that and we haven’t needed to spend a cent besides on water during laundry … and even that isn’t that much because now I just wash all of our clothes together only twice a week.

The other obvious benefit is for the environment. You save tons of space in those landfills … or like my diaper throwing buddy her … the side walks.

COME ON. This is just careless and ridiculous. I know all disposal diapers mamas aren’t like this … just you, you dirty little girl you. You know who you are … tsk tsk.

8 comments on “Another Reason I'm a Cloth Diapering Momma

  1. That’s gross. Also? Did you just quote Stewie at the end there? 😉

  2. greedygrace says:

    Super gross!

    I came by to welcome you to SITS!

  3. pchanner says:

    Thanks for the welcome greedygrace.

    You know Melanie, if I did it was not intentional. Sounds like him though. He’s easily quotable – squiggly line in my eye fluid

  4. Christina says:

    That’s terrible. Very sad some care so little.

    Stopping in to welcome you to SITS.

  5. Chris C. says:

    Wow, now that’s nasty. Only thing that would be nastier is if it was open and you stepped in it. Come on. Also, I love the new site layout. Very neat.

  6. em says:

    Ewwwww!!! How thoughtful of them to neatly wrap it before they tossed it though.

    How people treat their trash blows me away. If you don’t want it stinking up your vehicle, I don’t want it stinking up my sidewalk!!

    That includes cig butts. Double ew.

    Stopping in from SiTS!! Great content!!

  7. pchanner says:

    Thanks for the SITS welcome.

    Yeah some people are just very thoughtless. Makes me afraid to see their home. Well no … their home is probably nice, it’s their surronding neighbors I would feel sorry for. Poor things.

  8. […] This post was Twitted by pchanner […]

Leave a Reply

