A Mother's Heritage: When I Grow Up

549e48e76969be9c4ed7b7202f1794d2_Flowers_ScreensaverAfter I had my son in September my sister-in-law gave me a gift. She gave me a journal titled A Mother’s Heritage, A Loving Keepsake For Your Children by Ellie Claire. This is different from your every day journal in that instead of an empty canvas for you to free write, it has the topics and questions laid out for you. I like it because it prompts you to share insight to who you are that you may have never shown otherwise. Most of these questions are dealing with topics that, unless my children actually asked, I don’t think I would have jumped up and shared.

Well no matter how much I like the journal I only actually filled in one days worth of answers. I can’t even say I didn’t have the time, because I have made time to write on this blog, keep our home pretty clean, keep up with laundry, attend play dates and ensure quality-time with my husband … oh yeah and watch over, protect, shelter, raise and entertain a new born. No, I think what it is, is that I just do not enjoy writing stuff down anymore. Typing has become so much easier, and you know what, you can’t misplace the Internet … but I’m sure somewhere down the road in the rocky future ahead this journal will get tossed around and stuffed in a box somewhere never to be seen again for years. I also foresee a future where reading books and articles and such online will be the more accepted norm … oh wait … it pretty much already is.

So I had the ingenious plan to just start a series of blog posts here to answer the questions posed in the journal. That way I can share with my readers some insight about who I am and provide an opportunity for you guys to share about who you are also. It will also provide a way for my children, no matter where and when they are to be able to access this information as they please.

The first question (which I actually already answered in the journal): When I grew up I always wanted to be …

An International Spy. Watching movies and reading books about investigations, undercover operations and criming fighting always seemed fun and exciting. I studied criminal justice in college and even got my masters in it. I still dream of becoming a spy one day.

6 comments on “A Mother's Heritage: When I Grow Up

  1. This is a really, really cool idea. I think that I am going to have to check out that journal and maybe do the same thing. What a great idea.

    Stopped by from SITS to say hi and welcome.

  2. I hear you on the whole typing thing. I can type so much faster than I write. So that’s a great idea to put them down here. I think as long as you’re putting down memories and such, it really doesn’t matter in what form! Just stopping by from SITS to welcome you aboard & wish you a happy day!

  3. Mandy says:

    what a great idea! I always wanted to be a spy, too….or a chef. Maybe a chef AND a spy?!:)
    Anyway, the reason I came by was to welcome you to The Secret is in the Sauce! We’re so glad you joined, I know you’ll love it!:)
    -Mandy

  4. Sandy says:

    Welcome to SITS! It’s great to have you in the SITStahood!

  5. pchanner says:

    Thanks for the SITS welcome ladies. Glad to be here.

    I am glad to thought to start posting my jounal entries here. The more I think about it I think the better it will be.

  6. Chris C. says:

    I wanted to be a pilot, then when I started learning how to cook, I wanted to be a chef. I think that still lingers even now. When I got to college, I wanted to go into graphic arts then I saw What Women Want and advertising became my drive. I love being a daddy now most of all.

Leave a Reply

