DIY: Sugar Scrub

For the past few weeks I have been really considering the products I use, how much they cost, how good are they for me really and if it is worth making my own. The more research I did, the more I was convinced that I should I really start making my own house hold goods. So far the list of goods that I will be attempting to make over the next few weeks are:

  • Body Lotion
  • Lip Balm
  • Deodorant
  • Shampoo
  • Body Scrub

I know there are a boat load of items that I can make on my own, but I think this is a good start.  For some of the other items I have to wait for the ingredients to arrive in the mail. However, this week I am sharing with you my experience with making my own body scrub. Out of all the items this one seemed to be the easiest to make.

The ingredients I used to make my own sugar scrub include: Pure olive oil, Raw Sugar, and Essence Oil (I used tangerine). You will also need a jar that can close to store the items, a measuring cup and a mixing utensil.

Watch the scrub making fun here:

2 comments on “DIY: Sugar Scrub

  1. Ok, you know I’m new to all this so bare with me. But, is this body scrub to like shower with? And if so, you’re about to wash yourself with olive oil and sugar? Really? You’re gonna have to explain this to me. 😉

  2. pchanner says:

    Your so funny Melanie,

    You shower just as normal with soap. Just after you rinse off you use this scrub. It isn’t sudsy or anything. Just the aroma and the roughness of the rub and then the moisture from the oil leaves you feel great. Bath and Body Works has a set they carry if you perfer to try it out there before making your own.

Leave a Reply

