Book Review: The BlackBerry Diaries

BlackBerry

I recently contacted a representative with Weber Shandwick public relations regarding a chance to read and review Kathy Buckworth’s latest book, ‘The BlackBerry Diaries: Adventures in Modern Motherhood.’  It’s a year-long blog account of her life with her BlackBerry, and how, as a mother of four, her two worlds — technology and children — collide.

Within days of reaching out I heard back from Weber Shandwick and they sent me a free copy of the book to read at my leisure and provide an honest review. So here I am, I have just finished the book and now I am ready to share my thoughts.

I certainly did enjoy reading the book from beginning to end. It is a light hearted, fun and upbeat book with loads of laughs. My favorite feature of the book is the flow. It reads very similar to a blog. Kathy actually refers to the book as a plog given that blog is short for web-log and this book is on paper. She even captures more of a blog like essences by including tags at the end of each entry.

Now I myself am not a BBSP (BlackBerry Smart Phone) owner, but I do have a smart phone that I have with me everywhere. I can certainly relate to the ease,  convenience and importance of my phone and its constant proximity to me. However, I don’t believe my attachment level has grown to the heights expressed in the book. But then again I only have one child and my husband is actually pretty supportive and helpful around the home so maybe one day when more kids arrive and stress levels rise I will be more in tune with my BlackBerry side.

I highly recommend this book to all the modern mothers out there. If not just for the pure entertainment, then for some ideas and tricks on how to better utilize your own BBSP in times of need.

Want a chance to read the BlackBerry Diaries for yourselves?  There are 2 ways to enter the contest for a chance to win the book for free.

  1. Leave a comment here telling me what piece of modern technology do you use to help cope through those long boring business meetings, children’s recitals or PTA meetings?
  2. Post a tweet mentioning the contest and book. Then post another comment with the link to your tweet.

Contest will end on Friday, September 25th and a winner chosen on Saturday, September 26th. The winner will be chosen using Random.org and will be notified via email. (Please be sure to provide a valid email address with your comment.)

If you would like to purchase your own copy check out the book on amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

