Grandparents Day 2009

Grandparents day … one of the most unrecognized holidays out there. Which is understandable because it is one of the newest holidays and some times not even recognized on printed calendars. It was just 31 years ago in 1978 when President Jimmy Carter proclaimed that National Grandparents Day would be celebrated every year on the first Sunday after Labor Day. I discovered the holiday myself a few years back only because it happen to fall on my birthday that year and the calendar we had in the kitchen actually included that holiday in its print. That year we actually had a cake for myself and for my grandmother who at the time had lived with us.

This year though, National Grandparents Day took on a whole new meaning for me and my family. As most of you know my husband and I have been awaiting the arrival of our first child. Well we are excited to announce he finally made his appearance on Sept. 02. You can check out our birth experience here if you like. Just a few short days following his birth we had his grandparents drive down from Maryland to welcome him to the family. Along with them was my husbands grandmother. Her attendance is significant seeing that on both my side and my husbands she is the only living great grandparent remaining. I really wanted to make sure they had a moment to meet and bond before … well … you know. It was an emotional moment and wonderful gift for us all.

God bless family, especially grandparents for their wisdom, knowledge, experience and love they give.

grandma

Leave a Reply

