Amazing Story of Survival

Mother & DaughterWow, I tell you there is no way anyone can convince me that everything that happens to us is just a product of random events. There is no way I came across this article by mistake. Okay, let me back up a little bit and share where I am coming from …

Over this past weekend my nurse midwife called me to inform me that my routine urine test came back positive for Group B Strep. (You can read more about my phone call and the results here.) So naturally I did what any concerned expecting mother-to-be would do and got on the Internet searching for any and everything on GBS and what that means for me and the baby. Thankfully my nurses caught it super early and I can start treatment from now. It is really important for me not to wait to manage this bacteria because I am already on bed rest with a dilating cervix so my little monkey is at even more risk of contracting different elements from me.

Well I finally got to the point where I felt I had found enough information and stopped hammering the world wide web for medical advice. I am now just taking it day by day, popping my needed pills and praying for the best.

All of this leads me up to to today. While trying to think a couple topics to discus on this blog I went on my StumbleUpon account for ideas (something I haven’t done in almost a year since creating my Delicious account). I read somewhere that if you need some inspiration for blog topics try looking at other blogs on Stumble. So there I was just looking at random links based on what my interest are. About mid-way down the first page was this article titled “Amazing Grace: Parents cradle baby for last time.” Being in the motherly state that I am I don’t like to read sad scary stories like that so I past it over. After searching for a while longer I wasn’t seeing anything pop out so I went back to the first page, and that article was still there just starting at me. So I said … you know what … it can’t hurt … let me give it a try. And I am so glad that I did.

Once I clicked on the actual article I was able to see the full title which is “Amazing Grace: Parents cradle baby for last time after life support is switched off… but then she came back to life.” It is an amazing story of a little baby girl who suffered from contracting Group B Strep from her mother during delivery and had developed serious lung problems. True fighter this little angel. Please check out the article when you have the chance, you won’t regret it.

Amazing Grace: Parents cradle baby for last time after life support is switched off… but then she came back to life

Leave a Reply

