A Mother's Heritage: Inspiring People

After I had my son in September my sister-in-law gave me a gift. She gave me a journal titled A Mother’s Heritage, A Loving Keepsake For Your Children by Ellie Claire. This is different from your every day journal in that instead of an empty canvas for you to free write, it has the topics and questions laid out for you. I like it because it prompts you to share insight to who you are that you may have never shown otherwise. Most of these questions are dealing with topics that, unless my children actually asked, I don’t think I would have jumped up and shared. Instead of writing them in the book, I decided it would be easier to do a blog post for each.

Children who mature into stable young adults almost always have had a caring adult figure who has been a positive model in their life. – Doug Fields

This week’s journal question was … A love one who inspired me … My heroes are …

Growing up loved ones who inspired me were both of my grandmothers. I was always admiring how they both worked so hard for their families and always seemed to be able to provide everything for everyone who was in need. It encourages me to think of how resourceful they were. They both came from a place and time when it was common place to make your own clothes, grow your own food and create your own forms of entertainment which didn’t involve a computer or television.

My heroes are … I had to think about this one for a while because I can’t recall having any heroes growing up. Not that I didn’t have any, or that there were any influential people in my life because there were many. I just can’t remember any right now. How today I have many heroes, mostly the strong ministry leaders and pastors in my church.

2 comments on “A Mother's Heritage: Inspiring People

  1. Thanks for the comments on my new site look! This is a great idea- to write them on your blog and I love that the journal gives you the prompts…sometimes you want to write but can’t think of anything to say!

  2. Carrie says:

    Thanks for your comment on my blog! This is an all professional looking blog I might add.

    Carrie

Leave a comment